Back to that Green Grind

I realized after yesterday’s blog post that I talk a lot about food on here (Whatever, I think part of living well is eating well! But yes, that should involve not eating until I think I may die Haha)… Anyways, I just want to say that I definitely overindulged this weekend. And it was worth it let’s be real.

Honestly though, I’m a pretty healthy eater. I guess some would say I’m blessed in that I don’t really have a sweet tooth (don’t get me wrong, I could eat pie and cookies all day long…and brownies, and cakes, and gelato…if they’re put in front of me), it’s just that I don’t feel the need to have something sweet at the end of every day. Holidays at home with the fam are a completely. Different. Ball game.

tgiving2

I mean come on, look at that table…you just know deliciocity is about to occur…

tgiving

apps for days…

thanksgivingpiessome of our desserts from last Thanksgiving…

Do you see my point?! (umm Oktoberfest anyone?!) But I will say I was cursed with a savory tooth-is that even the right word for it? What I’m trying to say is that I have stopped buying bags of chips. (Self control-Wooo! Adulthood-Wooo!) I can devour an entire bag of chips and not think twice about it. I love love love potato chips. Crab chips, Salt and Pepper chips, Salt and Vinegar, Sour Cream and Onion…I could go on for days. So before this post turns into one devoted to one praising the almighty Chip God, let me get focused!

What I was trying to say before my inner chip-eating animal-beast creature took over, is that I truly do eat healthy (it sounds like I’m trying to convince you, right? Or maybe myself! Haha). I try to eat my oats, my flax seeds, my spinach, my all-natural, my organic. And I think I’ve found a good balance. How can one resist home-made schnitzel and brauts?! And of course all the other delicioties I enjoyed. I really don’t even feel bad about enjoying all that made-from-scratch goodness-it’s the fast food that I know is basically poison that I feel guilty about. Unfortunately part of road trips is fast food and I’d be lying if I said I did not love every one of those french fries and chicken tenders in the moment. Also, as long as I’m confessing I had a watermelon slushie with nerds and a whopper milkshake. Who can really blame me though, we don’t have Sonics up here!! I had to enjoy it while I could!

So this week I will be getting back to the non-processed regimen I’m actually pretty good at maintaining, and I have a goal of going to the gym every day this week!! (Monday does not count as I enjoyed it as the holiday it should be.) I’m going to take a moment to pat myself on the back because last night I went and saw Gone Girl-go and see it, by the way…amazing-and I didn’t even get popcorn. Probably the first time in years not getting popcorn at the theater and it was pretty hard, but I was committed to being healthier this week. So, what I’m trying to say is, yay me! Wish me luck in my endeavors and I will let you know how the kale spinach and quinoa goes!

xo

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

